ONLINE NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION

An essential and mandatory part of your journey to and at SKC is New Student Orientation (NSO). NSO is designed to provide students with important information about college services. Students will become part of the SKC family as they learn to navigate campus and make connections with advisors, staff, and faculty. Students will learn college expectations and requirements and will familiarize themselves with campus life. Through engaging activities, new students will have their questions answered, meet one another, and become connected with SKC.

If you have questions about New Student Orientation? Please call 406-275-4800 extensions 4855 or 4926.

Spring 2020-2021 New Student Orientation is closed. Fall 2021-2022 will open soon.

READY TO BECOME A BISON?

DURING THE ORIENTATION SESSION, YOU WILL.

  • Get to know the campus and the resources available to you
  • Find out about activities and clubs available to students
  • Gain more confidence with your choice to become a college student

Remember new students need to have a Completed SKC Admissions Application submitted prior to attending NSO. You may Apply for Admission to Salish Kootenai College online for questions please contact the Admissions Department 406-275-4855.

Watch the short video explaning the NSO Process.

Navigating NSO

This short video will guide you through the steps to completing SKC's  Online New Student Orientation

What's Next?

Once the student has completed New Student Orientation they may register for classes per review from their advisor.

For additional New Student Orientation questions, please contact:

Admissions Director
Phone: (406) 275-4855
Email: admissions@skc.edu

Registrar
Phone: (406) 275-4864
Email: cleo_kenmille@skc.edu

Enrollment Services
Phone: (406) 275-4773
Email: chelsea_arlee@skc.edu

Contact your advisor

You will need to contact your advisor before registering for this quarter's classes. The list below should help you contact them to get your advising and registration process started.

The following links will allow you to send an email to an advisor in your department.

Allied Health

Primary Contact

Valerie Johnson (EMER. Serv.)

valerie_johnson@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Hannah Kimmel (Medical Assist.)

hannah_kimmel@skc.edu

Respond to Emails Tuesdays 9:00-11:00 AM

BUSINESS

Primary Contact

Rachel Andrews-Gould

406-275-4851

rachel_andrewsgould@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Tim Carlin

406-275-4852

timothy_carlin@skc.edu

We will respond to emails within 24 hours. Please email both of us.

COMMUNITY HEALTH

Primary Contact

Alana Bahe (Health Promotion Practices)

(406) 275-4926

alana_bahe@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

DENTAL ASSISTING

Primary Contact

Jennifer Hoff

(406) 253-2454

jennifer_hoff@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Danica Luedtke

(406) 240-0244

danica_luedtke@skc.edu

We will respond to emails within 24 hours.

DIGITAL DESIGN

Primary Contact

Lesli Anderson

lesli_anderson@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

I will respond to emails within 48 hours.

Elementary EDUCATION

Primary Contact

DougRuhman (Elementary)

(406) 249-6534

douglas_ruhman@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Kathie Maiers

406-275-4750

kathie_maiers@skc.edu

FINE ARTS

Primary Contact

Cameron Decker

(406) 361-9039

cameron_decker@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

FORESTRY

Primary Contact

Robert Kenning

(406) 275-4886

robert_kenning@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Adrian Leighton

(406) 885-2787

adrian_leighton@skc.edu

Responding via email Tuesdays

FORESTRY (and Wildland Fire)

Primary Contact

Rick Everett

(406) 275-4769

rick_everett@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Email turnaround 24 hours

Geospatial Science (GIS & UASO Certification)

Primary Contact

Cody SIfford

cody_sifford@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Robert Kenning

(406) 275-4886

robert_kenning@skc.edu

Responding via email Tuesdays

HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION

Primary Contact

Micky Snyder

(406) 275-4017

micky_snyder@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Dennis Talbott

(406) 249-2525

dennis_talbott@skc.edu

HYDROLOGY

Primary Contact

Antony Berthelote

(406) 250-5382

antony_berthelote@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Chris Frissell

Chris_frissell@skc.edu

Text Tony to set up appointment. Email if text not available

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY / PRE- Engineering

Primary Contact

Antoine Paul

275-4065

antoine_paul@skc.edu


Drew Grennell

275-4064

drew_grennell@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Judy Hudgins

judy_hudgins@skc.edu

LIBERAL ARTS

Primary Contact

Amie Tryon

amie_tryon@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Will respond by the next day the college is open, during normal business hours

LIFE SCIENCES, GENERAL SCIENCES, HEALTH SCIENCES CERT.

Primary Contact

Christina Rush

406-275-4894

christina_rush@skc.edu


Clay Comstock

406-275-4945

clay_comstock@skc.edu


Wendy Westbroek

406-275-44842

wendy_westbroek@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Please feel free to email all three of us. That way we will be sure to have at least one of us respond quickly. Please note we are in charge of three majors: Life Sciences bachelors, General Sciences associate, and the Health Sciences Certificate. We also advise students who are not yet accepted into nursing, and help them choose appropriate science and math courses prior to acceptance.

MATHEMATICS

Primary Contact

Matt Seeley

275-4901

matt_seeley@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Dan Patrick

275-4897

dan_patrick@skc.edu

NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES

Primary Contact

Dean Nicolai

275-4821

dean_nicolai@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

JoAnn Ducharme

275-4951

joann_ducharme@skc.edu

As the primary advisor Dean Nicolai will be available during all business hours, Monday - Friday, and by appointment on weekends. JoAnn Ducharme will be available by appointment.

NURSING

Primary Contact

Tara Hout

(406) 275-4922

tara_hout@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Lisa Harmon

(406) 275-4925

lisa_harmon@skc.edu

Kristine Hilton

(406) 275-4910

kristine_hilton@skc.edu

Available only for accepted and admitted into nursing students (all have been advised for winter ASN, RN-BSN, and BSN already), not students who want to take classes in anticipation of applying for nursing for next academic year 2021-22. Have prospective students go to nursing.skc.edu ‘future students 2021’ tab for meticulous next steps to follow, including taking the Pre-Admisison Exam by February 5. Contact Christina Rush, Wendy Westbroek or Clay Comstock from Life Sciences if you are not yet accepted into the nursing program for current advising.

OFFICE PROFESSIONS

Primary Contact

Brittnee Broom

406-275-4930

brittnee_broom@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Best way to contact is through Email. Students can leave a message on my work phone and I will call them as soon as possible.

PSYCHOLOGY

Primary Contact

Carol Baldwin

406-275-4892

carol_baldwin@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

SOCIAL WORK

Primary Contact

Kasie Murphy-Brazill

406-471-4453

kassandra_murphy@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

William Schwarz

406-300-2332

william_schwarz@skc.edu

WILDLIFE & FISHERIES

Primary Contact

Janene Lichtenberg

406-212-5473

janene_lichtenberg@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

HOSPITALITY

Primary Contact

Terace Stewart

406-396-9758

terace_stewart@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

406-275-4862

I will be available by email Mon-Friday from 9am-5pm each day. However, one can call my work phone and leave a voicemail with complete detail about the issue at hand and I will respond within 24hrs.

GRANT MGMT

Primary Contact

Secondary Contact

Secondary Education

Primary Contact

Debbie Bell

[406] 275-4928

debbie_bell@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Wren Walker Robbins

[612] 615-2605

wren_walkerrobbins@skc.edu

Secondary Education -MATH

Primary Contact

Heather Bleecker

heather_bleecker@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Early Childhood Education

Primary Contact

Kathie Maiers

406-275-4750

kathie_maiers@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Amy Burland

406-544-3364

amy_burland@skc.edu

Early Childhood P-3

Primary Contact

Kathie Maiers

406-275-4761

kathie_maiers@skc.edu

Secondary Contact

Amy Burland

406-544-3364

amy_burland@skc.edu